It Wasn’t Supposed to Be Like This

What do you do when things aren’t going the way you expected them to? Maybe it’s time to “shake it off and step up!”

We all know that things don’t always go the way we want them to. In 2016, I entered my 5th  book, “You Light Up My Life ~ Olivia & Tyler” in the Kindle Scout program. Unlike authors in the early 2000’s and before, I’ve been able to self publish my romance novels since I first began writing. No longer do authors have to submit their work to publisher after publisher, agent after agent only to be told, “Sorry, we are not interested in publishing your book at this time.” As an independent, I’d never done anything like that before – no rejection for me, thank you very much!

If you’re reading this blog, hopefully, you’ve read at least one of my novels and enjoy my writing. I didn’t start writing with the expectation of winning a Pulitzer Prize with any of my romances, but do hope you receive a few minutes or perhaps, hours of pleasure while reading about the lives of the Adler family. In other words, I think I’m a pretty good writer and when I entered my book, I thought I had at least a chance of winning a publishing contract with Amazon.

Guess what? It didn’t happen. Was I disappointed?        Absolutely!

disappointment

Will it stop me from pursuing my dream of being a best-selling author?     Absolutely not!

If you love what you do … keep doing it. Shrug off your disappointments and continue to move forward.

When the donkey fell into the famer’s well, no one could figure out how to get the old donkey out. With no solution to his dilema the farmer said to himself, That donkey’s going to die soon anyway, and the well’s been dry for years. I might as well fill in the well and bury the old animal at the same time. So he gathered together several of his neighbors to help him. Everyone grabbed a shovel and began to throw dirt into the well.

At first, the donkey didn’t know what was happening. When he realized the farmer and his friends were trying to bury him, the donkey didn’t panic. As the dirt fell onto his shoulders he would shake it off and take a step up. Several hours later, the donkey stepped out of the now completely filled well.

You might feel like your situation is a little like the donkey’s. You’re in a pit and instead of others trying to help you out, they’re trying to bury you. Well, now’s the time to shake it off and step up! Figure out a way to turn those stumbling blocks into stepping stones. Focus on what you want and go for it! What others might perceive as obstacles, you see as challenges to be overcome.

Have faith. Believe in yourself. And remember what Henry Ford said, “Whether you think you can , or you think you can’t — you’re RIGHT!”

*  * *

Would you like to be a part of my Advance Reader Team? If so, please click here to get your FREE copy of  Just the Way You Are ~ Aaron & Jane on Amazon.

After you’ve read it, please let me know how you liked it by leaving your Review of “Just the Way You Are.

Then complete the form below indicating in the Comments section that you’ve left your review and let me know your format preference (Kindle/mobi, Nook/ePub, PDF, etc.) to receive your FREE copy of my next book, The Things We Do For Love ~ Luke & Shelly, as soon as it’s available.

Love & Romance,

Anita

 

Author: Anita Louise Romance

My husband, Mike, comes from a large and loving family of nine children, and they were the inspiration for the Adler Series. All of my books center around the important people in every woman’s life – romantic relationships, family, and friends. I do my best to take readers on an emotional journey as they observe how the characters in my stories think and feel. It is my hope that while reading, hearts will be touched, funny-bones will be tickled, and overall, lovers of romance will be uplifted and inspired. I have always been an avid reader of love stories, and my passion for romance found another outlet when I discovered how much fun it was to write about my own smart and sexy heroes and heroines. I am also an ardent and devoted student of personal development. Weaving the life changing principles that guided me to the love of my life and to a happy marriage is an important aspect in each of my novels. . Hope you enjoy getting to know all the Adlers as much and I'm enjoying them. Please look for me on Amazon and other popular sites. Also, it would be appreciated very much if you would please share your feedback with me by posting your review.

1 thought on “It Wasn’t Supposed to Be Like This”

Leave a Reply

