So Much To Be Thankful For

I’m a Josh Groban fan, and he has a song entitled “Thankful.” (Here’s a link to a very nice video you might enjoy. “Thankful” by Josh Groban) In his melodic voice he reminds us that: “Even though we all can still do more … there’s so much to be thankful for.”

thankful

This is the time of year when many of us gather with friends and family. Hopefully, your get-together is filled with love and laughter. I know mine will be, but that wasn’t always the case.

There was a time when my children were young when the holidays were shared between myself and their father. On the years they were not with me, I was usually fortunate enough to spend Thanksgiving with my small, but loving family. However, it was difficult being without my children, and stressful dealing with their difficult father.

For those of you who might be in a similar situation, please do your best to keep a positive attitude – for your own sake as much, if not more, than for the sake of your little ones. In my opinion, the best thing a parent can do for their offspring is to let those sons or daughters know that they are loved … unconditionally. Your love for them is with them wherever they are and whoever they are with. I remember during a very challenging time in our lives, telling my son and daughter, “There is absolutely nothing you could ever do or say to make me stop loving you. I will love you forever … no matter what.”

Sure, it’s easier to show your love when everything is going smoothly. When you’re happy and confident, you can share those wonderful qualities with those around you. If, on the other hand, the holidays are a time when you deal with people and situations that are less than perfect, I’d like to share something I do when faced with a challenge. I listen, read and write.

Listen to uplifting music or motivational videos. They can be very helpful. Listen to your thoughts. Are you telling yourself how great this time of year is and how much you enjoy it? Or are you allowing something less positive to dominate your mind?  Maybe it’s time to watch a Christmas movie (Hallmark Channel is a great source!) or read a fiction or non-fiction book that takes your mind off whatever might be causing you sadness or stress. (Lots of great books in the library or online.)

And write. Get your feelings down on paper rather than keeping them bottled up inside. Make a list of all the things you have to be thankful for. Even those of us who might consider ourselves less fortunate, have so much for which to be grateful. Focus on all that you have.  You’ll likely find that it’s true …

There’s so much to be thankful for!

***

Anita Louise’s 5th novel, You Light Up My Life ~ Olivia & Tyler, is complete and has been submitted to Kindle Scout for publication consideration. Your nomination would be very much appreciated. https://kindlescout.amazon.com/

If you would like to become a member of my Review Team and receive a #FREE Advance Reader Copy (ARC) of this and more upcoming books by Anita Louise, just complete the form below. Please let me know what format you prefer (Kindle/mobi, Nook/ePub, PDF, etc.) by indicating  your format preference in the Comments section.

Author: Anita Louise Romance

My husband, Mike, comes from a large and loving family of nine children, and they were the inspiration for the Adler Series. All of my books center around the important people in every woman’s life – romantic relationships, family, and friends. I do my best to take readers on an emotional journey as they observe how the characters in my stories think and feel. It is my hope that while reading, hearts will be touched, funny-bones will be tickled, and overall, lovers of romance will be uplifted and inspired. I have always been an avid reader of love stories, and my passion for romance found another outlet when I discovered how much fun it was to write about my own smart and sexy heroes and heroines. I am also an ardent and devoted student of personal development. Weaving the life changing principles that guided me to the love of my life and to a happy marriage is an important aspect in each of my novels. . Hope you enjoy getting to know all the Adlers as much and I'm enjoying them. Please look for me on Amazon and other popular sites. Also, it would be appreciated very much if you would please share your feedback with me by posting your review.

Leave a Reply

